143B-106. Historic Hillsborough Commission - members; selection; quorum; compensation.

The Historic Hillsborough Commission shall consist of not fewer than 25 members appointed by the Governor plus, ex officio, the mayor of the Town of Hillsborough, the Chairman of the Board of Commissioners of Orange County, the Orange County Register of Deeds, the Orange County Clerk of Superior Court, and the Secretary of Natural and Cultural Resources or designee. The initial appointed members of the Commission shall be the members of the present Historic Hillsborough Commission who shall serve for a period equal to the remainder of their current terms on the Historic Hillsborough Commission. At the end of the respective terms of office of the present members, the appointments of members, excepting the ex officio members, shall be for terms of six years and until their successors are appointed and qualify. Any appointment to fill a vacancy on the Commission created by the resignation, dismissal, death or disability of a member shall be for the balance of the unexpired term. The Commission shall elect its own officers. Members of the Commission shall serve without pay and without expense allowance from State funds. The Commission shall determine its requirements for a quorum. (1973, c. 476, s. 103; 2015-241, s. 14.30(t).)