120-287. Organization of Commission.

(a) The President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall each designate a cochair of the Joint Legislative Commission on Energy Policy. The Commission may meet at any time upon the call of either cochair, whether or not the General Assembly is in session.

(b) A quorum of the Commission is six members.

(c) While in the discharge of its official duties, the Commission has the powers of a joint committee under G.S. 120-19 and G.S. 120-19.1 through G.S. 120-19.4. The Commission may contract for consultants or hire employees in accordance with G.S. 120-32.02.

(d) From funds available to the General Assembly, the Legislative Services Commission shall allocate monies to fund the Joint Legislative Commission on Energy Policy. Members of the Commission receive subsistence and travel expenses as provided in G.S. 120-3.1. The Legislative Services Commission, through the Legislative Services Officer, shall assign professional staff to assist the Commission in its work. Upon the direction of the Legislative Services Commission, the Supervisors of Clerks of the Senate and of the House of Representatives shall assign clerical staff to the Commission. The expenses for clerical employees shall be borne by the Commission. (2012-143, s. 6(a).)