§ 116-74.43. (Repealed effective July 1, 2021) Terms of loans for the Principal Fellows Program; receipt and disbursement of funds.
(a) All scholarship loans for the Principal Fellows Program shall be evidenced by notes made payable to the State Education Assistance Authority that bear interest at a rate not to exceed ten percent (10%) per year as set by the Authority and beginning 90 days after completion of the school administrator program, or 90 days after termination of the scholarship loan, whichever is earlier. The scholarship loan may be terminated upon the recipient's withdrawal from school or by the recipient's failure to meet the standards set by the Commission.
(b) The State Education Assistance Authority shall forgive the loan and any interest accrued on the loan if, within six years after graduation from a school administrator program, exclusive of any authorized deferment for extenuating circumstances, the recipient serves for four years as a school administrator at a North Carolina public school or at a school operated by the United States government in North Carolina. The SEAA shall also forgive the loan if it finds that it is impossible for the recipient to work for four years, within six years after completion of the two-year school administrator program supported by the scholarship loan at a North Carolina public school, or at a school operated by the United States government in North Carolina, because of the death or permanent disability of the recipient. If the recipient repays the scholarship loan by cash payments, all indebtedness shall be repaid within 12 years after completion of the two-year school administrator program supported by the scholarship loan. If the recipient completes the school administrator program, payment of principal and interest shall begin no later than 27 months after the completion of the program. Should a recipient present extenuating circumstances, the State Education Assistance Authority may extend the period to repay the loan in cash to no more than a total of 15 years.
(c) Repealed by Session Laws 2018-5, s. 10A.3(c), effective July 1, 2018. (1993, c. 321, s. 85(a); 1993 (Reg. Sess., 1994), c. 677, s. 12(a); 2008-204, s. 5.3; 2018-5, s. 10A.3(c); 2019-60, s. 1(l), (s).)