Article 5.

Emergency Management Certification Program.

166A-60. Emergency Management Certification Program authority; purpose.

The Division of Emergency Management in the Department of Public Safety shall establish, as a voluntary program, an Emergency Management Certification Program as provided for in this Article. The purpose of the Program is to strengthen and enhance the professional competencies of emergency management personnel in State and local emergency management agencies. (2009-192, s. 2; 2011-145, s. 19.1(g).)


166A-61. Program standards and guidelines.

(a) The Division shall establish standards and guidelines for administration of the Program, including:

(1) Minimum educational and training standards that must be met in order to qualify for Type IV (entry), Type III (basic), Type II (intermediate), and Type I (advanced) emergency management certification.

(2) Levels of education or equivalent experience that may be met in order to qualify for the certifications provided for in subdivision (1) of this subsection.

(3) Levels of education or equivalent experience for instructors who participate in programs or courses of instruction.

(4) Curricula, syllabi, and other educational materials.

(5) Mode(s) of delivery of educational and training programs.

(b) In developing the Program, the Division may consult and cooperate with political subdivisions, agencies of the State, other governmental agencies, universities, colleges, community colleges, and other institutions, public or private, concerning the development of the Program and a systematic career development plan, including conducting and stimulating research by public and private agencies designed to improve education and training in the administration of emergency management.

(c) The Division shall study and make reports and recommendations to the Secretary of Public Safety and other appropriate agencies and officials concerning compliance with federal guidance, training, educational, technical assistance needs, and equipment needs of State and local emergency management agencies. (2009-192, s. 2; 2011-145, s. 19.1(g).)


166A-62. Emergency Management Training and Standards Advisory Board.

(a) The Secretary of Public Safety shall establish and appoint the Emergency Management Training and Standards Advisory Board to provide oversight of training and certification programs established pursuant to this Article.

(b) The composition of the Board shall include emergency management subject matter experts representative of the State, its political subdivisions, and private industry.

(c) The duties of the Board shall include:

(1) Oversight of the Emergency Management Certification Program.

(2) Review of applications for certification.

(3) Issuance of certifications at least semiannually.

(d) The Board shall meet at least semiannually and at other times at the discretion of the Secretary. (2009-192, s. 2; 2011-145, s. 19.1(g).)


166A-63. Issuance of certification; reciprocity; renewal.

(a) The Emergency Management Training and Standards Advisory Board shall issue documentation of certification, in a form and manner prescribed by the Division, to each applicant within North Carolina demonstrating successful completion of the requirements for the level of certification sought by the applicant.

(b) The Board may issue documentation of certification to any person in another state or territory if the person's qualifications were, at the date of registration or certification, substantially equivalent to the requirements established pursuant to this Article.

(c) Every person certified pursuant to this Article who desires to maintain certification shall apply for renewal of certification within five years of the date of original certification or certification renewal.

(d) Renewal of Type I (advanced) certification is subject to completion of at least 24 hours of continuing education requirements as established by the Board.

(e) A certification that is not renewed in accordance with this section automatically expires. The Board may approve reinstatement of an expired certification upon good cause shown by the applicant.

(f) Certifications that have been expired for more than five years shall not be reinstated. (2009-192, s. 2.)


166A-64: Reserved for future codification purposes.