GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2021

SESSION LAW 2021-186 HOUSE BILL 978

AN ACT TO MAKE MODIFICATIONS TO APPOINTMENTS MADE IN THE 2021 APPOINTMENTS BILL AND TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC OFFICES UPON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES AND THE PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE OF THE SENATE.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

PART I. MODIFICATIONS

SECTION 1.1. Section 1.22 of S.L. 2021-131 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1.22. William R. "Russ" Davis of Onslow County is appointed to the North Carolina Board for Licensing of Soil Scientists for a term expiring June 30, 2024. June 30, 2023."

SECTION 1.2. Section 1.29 of S.L. 2021-131 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 1.29.** Michael J. Rusher of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Clean Water Management Trust Fund Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2024.July 1, 2024."

SECTION 1.3. Section 1.34(a) of S.L. 2021-131 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1.34.(a) Jennifer "Jenny" Kelvington of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Environmental Management Commission for a term expiring June 30, 2023.July 31, 2023."

SECTION 1.4. Section 1.36 of S.L. 2021-131 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 1.36.(a)** Leigh T. Brown of Cabarrus County is and Lavonda R. Daniels of <u>Carteret County are</u> appointed to the North Carolina Housing Finance Agency Board of Directors for <u>a term-terms</u> expiring June 30, 2023.

"SECTION 1.36.(b) Melvin Charles Mullen of Nash <u>County, County and Paul Kennedy of</u> Brunswick <u>County, and Lavonda R. Daniels of Carteret</u> County are appointed to the North Carolina Housing Finance Agency Board of Directors for terms expiring June 30, 2025."

SECTION 1.5. Section 1.41 of S.L. 2021-131 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1.41. Darrin C. Hockstra of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board for a term beginning August 1, 2021, and expiring June 30, 2024.July 31, 2024."

SECTION 1.6. Section 1.62 of S.L. 2021-131 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 1.62.** Nada Lawrimore of Wilkes County is appointed to the Private Protective Services Board for a term expiring July 1, 2022.July 1, 2024."

SECTION 1.7. Section 2.9 of S.L. 2021-131 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 2.9.** William W. "Bill" Gaffney of <u>Mecklenburg_Transylvania</u> County is appointed to the North Carolina Cemetery Commission for a term expiring June 30, 2025."

SECTION 1.8. Section 2.32 of S.L. 2021-131 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 2.32.** Brian L. McGinnis of Gaston County, Anita Bachmann of Guilford County, <u>Dr. William G. Way, Jr., of Wake County,</u> and Timothy S. Norris of Rowan County are appointed to the North Carolina Institute of Medicine Board of Directors for terms beginning January 1, 2022, and expiring December 31, 2025."

SECTION 1.9. Section 2.34 of S.L. 2021-131 reads as rewritten:



"**SECTION 2.34.** Kurt H. Bland of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Irrigation Contractors' Licensing Board for a term beginning October 1, 2021, and expiring September 31, 2024. September 30, 2024."

SECTION 1.10. Section 2.35 of S.L. 2021-131 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 2.35. Pursuant to Section 5 of S.L. 2021-47, Paul Y. Coble of Wake County is appointed to the Judicial Standards Commission for a term expiring June 30, 2027, December 31, 2027, to serve as the alternate Commission member for the Commission member appointed by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives."

SECTION 1.11. Section 2.44 of S.L. 2021-131 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 2.44.** Glenn O. Buck, Jr., of Pitt-Donald A. Hall of Pender County, Shelli E. Stoker of Mecklenburg County, and Dr. Micah H. Krempasky of Wake County are appointed to the Commission for Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services for terms expiring June 30, 2024."

SECTION 1.12. Section 2.59 of S.L. 2021-131 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 2.59.** The Honorable James "Alan" Norman of Cleveland County is appointed to the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission for a term beginning September 1, 2021, and expiring August 30, 2024.<u>August 31, 2024.</u>"

SECTION 1.13. Section 2.65 of S.L. 2021-131 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 2.65. Bobby S. Walker of Yadkin-Heather A. Ray of Cleveland County is appointed to the Well Contractors Certification Commission for a term expiring June 30, 2024."

PART II. SPEAKER'S RECOMMENDATIONS

SECTION 2.1. Glenn O. Buck, Jr., of Pitt County and Kathy S. Allen of Cleveland County are appointed to the North Carolina Addictions Specialist Practice Board for terms expiring June 30, 2024.

SECTION 2.2. James Anthony of Wake County is appointed to the Teachers' and State Employees' Retirement Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2023.

SECTION 2.3. Andy W. Renfrow of Wake County is appointed to the Private Protection Services Board for a term expiring July 1, 2025.

SECTION 2.4.(a) Stephanie Castagnier Dunn of New Hanover County is appointed to the North Carolina Innovation Council for a term expiring September 30, 2023.

SECTION 2.4.(b) Tariq Bokhari of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the North Carolina Innovation Council for a term expiring September 30, 2025.

SECTION 2.5. John B. Adcock of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Turnpike Authority for a term expiring January 14, 2025.

SECTION 2.6. Earl F. "Hugh" Caison, II, of New Hanover County is appointed to the University of North Carolina at Wilmington Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2023, to fill the unexpired term of Haywood Edwin White, III.

PART III. PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE'S RECOMMENDATIONS

SECTION 3.1. Joseph V. Burns of Forsyth County is appointed to the North Carolina Criminal Justice Information Network Governing Board for a term expiring June 30, 2025, to fill the unexpired term of Robert W. Lee.

SECTION 3.2.(a) Dr. Douglas C. Hague of Union County is appointed to the North Carolina Innovation Council for a term expiring September 30, 2023.

SECTION 3.2.(b) Dr. Leobardo Diosdado of Jackson County is appointed to the North Carolina Innovation Council for a term expiring September 30, 2025.

SECTION 3.3. Francis X. DeLuca of New Hanover County is appointed to the State Ethics Commission for a term expiring December 31, 2022, to fill the unexpired term of the Honorable Shirley Randleman.

SECTION 3.4. Patrick "Pat" Molamphy of Moore County is appointed to the Board of Transportation for a term expiring July 30, 2024.

PART IV. EFFECTIVE DATE

SECTION 4.1. This act is effective when it becomes law. Unless otherwise provided, terms begin upon the effective date of this act.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 30th day of November, 2021.

s/ Phil Berger President Pro Tempore of the Senate

s/ Tim Moore Speaker of the House of Representatives