GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

SESSION LAW 2012-21 SENATE BILL 799

AN ACT TO REMEDY INFIRMITIES FOUND BY A FEDERAL COURT IN A LOCAL ACT RELATING TO ELECTION OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF GUILFORD COUNTY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. Section 3 of S.L. 2011-407 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 3.(a) Chapter 136, Session Laws of 1991, as reenacted by Section 1 of Chapter 521, Session Laws of 1993, is repealed.

"SECTION 3.(b) Chapter 172, Session Laws of 2011, is repealed.

"SECTION 3.(c) Effective on the first Monday of December 2012, the Board of Commissioners of Guilford County shall consist of nine members. The members shall be elected on a partisan basis at the time of the regular county primary and general elections. One member shall be elected from each of eight single-member districts established under subsection (f) of this section. One member shall be elected at large from within the entirety of Guilford County.

"SECTION 3.(d) In 2012 and quadrennially thereafter, members for Districts 4, 5, 7, 6, and 8 shall be elected for four-year terms. In 2014 and quadrennially thereafter, members for Districts 1, 2, 3, and 6 7 shall be elected for four-year terms, and the at-large member shall be elected for four-year terms.

"SECTION 3.(d1) The member elected from District 9 in 2010 for a four-year term is assigned to and represents District 7 as that district is defined in subsection (f) of this section from the first Monday in December of 2012 through the end of her term. The members elected from District 1, 2, and 3 in 2010 for a four-year term are assigned to and represent through the end of their terms Districts 1, 2, and 3 respectively, as those districts are defined in subsection (f) of this section. The member elected from District 6 in 2010 for a four-year term is assigned to be the at-large member from the first Monday in December of 2012 through the end of her term

"SECTION 3.(d2) Any vacancies in Districts 1, 2, 3, and 7 from the first Monday in December of 2012 through the end of the term shall be filled in accordance with G.S. 153A-27.1 by a resident of the district as defined in subsection (f) of this section.

"SECTION 3.(e) The qualified voters of each district shall elect the member of the board for that district. Candidates must reside in the district for which they seek to be elected.

"SECTION 3.(f) The districts are as follows:

District 1: Guilford County: VTD: G54, VTD: G55, VTD: G57, VTD: G60, VTD: H03, VTD: H05, VTD: H06, VTD: H07, VTD: H08, VTD: H09, VTD: H10, VTD: H11, VTD: H12, VTD: H17, VTD: H18, VTD: H19A, VTD: JAM4, VTD: SUM1, VTD: SUM2.

District 2: Guilford County: VTD: G36, VTD: G37, VTD: G62, VTD: G64, VTD: G65, VTD: H01, VTD: H02, VTD: H04, VTD: H13, VTD: H14, VTD: H16, VTD: H19B, VTD: H20A, VTD: H20B, VTD: H22, VTD: JAM1, VTD: JAM2, VTD: JAM3, VTD: JAM5, VTD: PG2, VTD: SCLAY, VTD: SUM3, VTD: SUM4.

District 3: Guilford County: VTD: FR3, VTD: FR5, VTD: G15, VTD: G16, VTD: G17, VTD: G33, VTD: G34, VTD: G35, VTD: G39, VTD: G40A1, VTD: G41, VTD: G42, VTD: G45, VTD: G48, VTD: OR1, VTD: OR2, VTD: SF3, VTD: SF4, VTD: STOK.

District 4: Guilford County: VTD: CG3A, VTD: CG3B, VTD: FEN2, VTD: G24, VTD: G25, VTD: G28, VTD: G29, VTD: GIB, VTD: GR, VTD: JEF1, VTD: JEF2, VTD: JEF4, VTD: MON1, VTD: MON3, VTD: NCLAY1, VTD: NCLAY2, VTD: NMAD, VTD: NWASH, VTD: RC1, VTD: RC2, VTD: SMAD, VTD: SWASH.



- **District 5**: Guilford County: VTD: CG1, VTD: CG2, VTD: G11, VTD: G12, VTD: G13, VTD: G14, VTD: G18, VTD: G19, VTD: G20, VTD: G21, VTD: G22, VTD: G23, VTD: G27, VTD: G30, VTD: G31, VTD: G32, VTD: G40A2, VTD: G40B, VTD: G44, VTD: NCGR1, VTD: NCGR2, VTD: SF1, VTD: SF2.
- **District 6**: Guilford County: VTD: FR1, VTD: FR2, VTD: FR4, VTD: G38, VTD: G43, VTD: G66, VTD: H15, VTD: H21, VTD: H23, VTD: H24, VTD: H25, VTD: H26, VTD: H27, VTD: HP, VTD: NDRI, VTD: SDRI.
- **District 7**: Guilford County: VTD: FEN1, VTD: G03, VTD: G05, VTD: G06, VTD: G08, VTD: G09, VTD: G10, VTD: G26, VTD: G53, VTD: G71, VTD: G72, VTD: G74, VTD: G75, VTD: JEF3, VTD: MON2, VTD: PG1.
- **District 8**: Guilford County: VTD: G01, VTD: G02, VTD: G04, VTD: G07, VTD: G46, VTD: G47, VTD: G49, VTD: G50, VTD: G51, VTD: G52, VTD: G56, VTD: G58, VTD: G59, VTD: G61, VTD: G63, VTD: G67, VTD: G68, VTD: G69, VTD: G70, VTD: G73.

The names and boundaries of the voting tabulation districts specified in this section are as shown on the 2010 Census Redistricting TIGER/Line Shapefiles.

"SECTION 3.(g) Following the return of the 2020 census, and each census thereafter, the Guilford County Board of Commissioners may revise the election districts as provided by G.S. 153A-22.

"SECTION 3.(h) Notwithstanding Part 4 of Article 4 of Chapter 153A of the General Statutes, the structure of the Guilford County Board of Commissioners shall not be altered under that Part prior to July 1, 2017.

"SECTION 3.(i) The Guilford County Commissioners shall submit the changes required by this act to the U.S. Department of Justice pursuant to section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965."

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 12th day of June, 2012.

- s/ Walter H. Dalton President of the Senate
- s/ Thom Tillis
 Speaker of the House of Representatives

Page 2 Session Law 2012-21 SL2012-21