GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

SESSION LAW 2011-113 HOUSE BILL 545

AN ACT TO MODIFY THE MOORE COUNTY OCCUPANCY TAX.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. Chapter 188 of the 1987 Session Laws, as amended by S.L. 2007-527, is rewritten and recodified as Sections 2 and 3 of this act. This act does not affect the rights or liabilities of the county, a taxpayer, or another person arising under the law rewritten and recodified by this act before the effective date of this act, nor does it affect the right to any refund or credit of a tax that accrued under the law rewritten and recodified by this act.

SECTION 2. Occupancy tax. - (a) Authorization and Scope. - The Board of Commissioners of Moore County may levy a room occupancy tax of up to three percent (3%) of the gross receipts derived from the rental of any room, lodging, or accommodation furnished by a hotel, motel, inn, tourist camp, or similar place within the county that is subject to sales tax imposed by the State under G.S. 105-164.4(a)(3). This tax is in addition to any State or local sales tax. This tax does not apply to accommodations furnished by nonprofit charitable, educational, or religious organizations when furnished in furtherance of their nonprofit purpose.

SECTION 2.(b) Administration. – A tax levied under this section shall be levied, administered, collected, and repealed as provided in G.S. 153A-155. The penalties provided in G.S. 153A-155 apply to a tax levied under this section.

SECTION 2.(c) Definitions. – The following definitions apply in this act:

- (1) Net proceeds. Gross proceeds less the cost to the county of administering and collecting the tax, as determined by the finance officer, not to exceed three percent (3%) of the first five hundred thousand dollars (\$500,000) of gross proceeds collected each year and one percent (1%) of the remaining gross proceeds collected each year.
- (2) Promote travel and tourism. To advertise or market an area or activity, publish and distribute pamphlets and other materials, conduct market research, or engage in similar promotional activities that attract tourists or business travelers to the area. The term includes administrative expenses incurred in engaging in the listed activities.
- (3) Tourism-related expenditures. Expenditures that, in the judgment of the Moore County Tourism Development Authority, are designed to increase the use of lodging facilities, meeting facilities, or convention facilities in the county or to attract tourists or business travelers to the county. The term includes tourism-related capital expenditures.

SECTION 2.(d) Distribution and Use of Tax Revenue. – Moore County shall, on a quarterly basis, remit to the Moore County Tourism Development Authority the net proceeds of the occupancy tax. The Authority shall use at least two-thirds of the funds remitted to it under this subsection to promote travel and tourism in Moore County and shall use the remainder for tourism-related expenditures.



SECTION 3. Tourism Development Authority. - (a) Appointment and Membership. - When the Board of Commissioners adopts a resolution levying a room occupancy tax under this act, it shall also adopt a resolution creating the Moore County Tourism Development Authority, which shall be a public authority under the Local Government Budget and Fiscal Control Act and shall be composed of the following members:

- (1) A county commissioner appointed by the Board of County Commissioners.
- (2) Five owners or operators of hotels, motels, or other taxable tourist accommodations, two of which own or operate the largest hotels, motels, or other accommodations in the county by rental unit count and three of which own or operate other hotels, motels, or other accommodations by rental unit count, who shall be appointed by the Board of County Commissioners,
- (3) The President and CEO of the Moore County Chamber of Commerce.
- (4) Two individuals interested in the tourist business who have demonstrated an interest in tourist development but do not own or operate a hotel, motel, or other taxable tourist accommodation, who shall be appointed by the Board of County Commissioners.

All members of the Authority shall serve without compensation. Vacancies in the Authority shall be filled in the same manner as the initial appointments. Members appointed to fill vacancies shall serve for the remainder of the unexpired term for which they are appointed to fill. Members shall serve terms as provided in the rules of procedure and bylaws of the Authority.

The Board of Commissioners shall designate one member of the Authority as chair. The Authority shall meet at the call of the chair and shall adopt rules of procedure and bylaws to govern its meetings. The Finance Officer for Moore County shall be the ex officio finance officer of the Authority.

SECTION 3.(b) Duties. – The Authority shall expend the net proceeds of the tax levied under this act for the purposes provided in Section 2 of this act. The Authority shall promote travel, tourism, and conventions in the county, sponsor tourist-related events and activities in the county, and finance tourist-related capital projects in the county.

SECTION 3.(c) Reports. – The Authority shall report quarterly and at the close of the fiscal year to the Moore County Board of Commissioners on its receipts and expenditures for the preceding quarter and for the year in such detail as the Board of Commissioners may require.

SECTION 4. Administrative provisions. – G.S. 153A-155(g) reads as rewritten:

"(g) Applicability. – Subsection (c) of this section applies to all counties and county districts that levy an occupancy tax. To the extent subsection (c) conflicts with any provision of a local act, subsection (c) supersedes that provision. The remainder of this section applies only to Alleghany, Anson, Brunswick, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Davie, Duplin, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Granville, Halifax, Haywood, Madison, Martin, McDowell, Montgomery, <u>Moore</u>, Nash, New Hanover, New Hanover County District U, Northampton, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Rowan, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Washington, and Wilson Counties, to Surry County District S, to Watauga County District U, to Wilkes County District K, to Yadkin County District Y, and to the Township of Averasboro in Harnett County and the Ocracoke Township Taxing District."

SECTION 5. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 9th day of June, 2011.

s/ Walter H. Dalton

Session Law 2011-113

President of the Senate

s/ Thom Tillis Speaker of the House of Representatives