GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1987 SESSION

CHAPTER 1005 HOUSE BILL 2230

AN ACT TO INCORPORATE THE TOWN OF CEDAR POINT.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. A Charter for the Town of Cedar Point is enacted to read: "CHARTER OF THE TOWN OF CEDAR POINT.

"Chapter I.

"Incorporation and Corporate Powers.

"Section 1.1. Incorporation and corporate powers. The inhabitants of the Town of Cedar Point are a body corporate and politic under the name 'Town of Cedar Point'. Under that name they have all the powers, duties, rights, privileges, and immunities conferred and imposed upon cities by the general law of North Carolina.

"Chapter II.

"Corporate Boundaries.

"Sec. 2.1. Town Boundaries. Until modified in accordance with law, the boundaries of the Town of Cedar Point are as follows:

In Carteret County, Beginning at a concrete monument standing in the western margin of N.C. Secondary Road no. 1113, said monument being 182.63 feet north of a culvert under said road which is approximately 1151 feet north of the intersection of Secondary Road no. 1113 and N.C. Highway 24; thence from the above described point of beginning north 82 degrees 26 minutes west 1756.98 feet to an iron pipe in the run of a branch. Thence with said branch in a westerly direction to the head of Boat House Creek, thence with ordinary high water mark down the southern side of Boat House Creek to White Oak River, thence in a southwesterly direction with the ordinary high water mark to the south side of the southern bridge across White Oak River, thence with the ordinary high water mark of Bogue Sound to the western right of way of N.C. Highway 58, thence with the western right of way of N.C. Highway 58, thence with the western right of way of N.C. Highway 58, thence with the point of beginning, thence north 82 degrees 26 minutes west approximately 470 feet to the point and place of beginning.

"Chapter III.

"Governing Body.

"Sec. 3.1. Structure of governing body; number of members. The governing body of the Town of Cedar Point is the Town Council, which has four members.

"Sec. 3.2. Manner of electing board. The qualified voters of the entire Town elect the members of the Council.

"Sec. 3.3. Term of office of Council members. Members of the Town Council are elected to four-year terms, except at the initial election in 1989, the two highest vote getters shall be elected to four-year terms, and the next two highest vote-getters shall be elected to two-year terms.

"Sec. 3.4. Selection of Mayor; term of office. The qualified voters of the entire town elect the Mayor. A mayor shall be elected in 1989 and biennially thereafter for a two-year term.

"Chapter IV.

"Elections.

"Sec. 4.1. Conduct of Town elections. The Town Council shall be elected on a nonpartisan basis and the results determined by the plurality method as provided by G.S. 163-292.

"Chapter V.

"Administration.

"Sec. 5.1. Mayor-Council plan. The Town of Cedar Point operates under the Mayor-Council plan as provided by Part 3 of Article 7 of Chapter 160A of the General Statutes."

Sec. 2. Until members of the Town Council are elected in 1989 in accordance with the Town Charter and the law of North Carolina, Elbert A. Guthrie shall serve as Mayor and A.D. Ennett, Jr., William Aman, John R. Jones, and Harry Redfearn shall serve as members of the Town Council.

Sec. 3. From and after July 1, 1988, the citizens and property in the Town of Cedar Point shall be subject to municipal taxes levied for the year beginning July 1, 1988, and for that purpose the town shall obtain from Carteret County a record of property in the area herein incorporated which was listed for taxes as of January 1, 1988, and the businesses in the town shall be liable for privilege license tax from the effective date of the privilege license tax ordinance. The Town may adopt a budget ordinance for fiscal year 1988-89 without following the timetable in the Local Government Budget and Fiscal Control Act.

Sec. 4. This act shall become effective July 1, 1988.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 28th day of June, 1988.