## NORTH CAROLINA GENERAL ASSEMBLY 1969 SESSION

## CHAPTER 248 HOUSE BILL 378

AN ACT TO APPOINT CERTAIN MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE RESPECTIVE COUNTIES OF NORTH CAROLINA AND TO FIX THEIR TERMS OF OFFICE.

The General Assembly of North Carolina do enact:

**Section 1.** That the hereinafter named persons are hereby appointed members of the County Boards of Education for the several counties in the State as follows:

Alamance: George M. Bullard, W. Adrian Jobe, each for a term of four years.

Alexander: Hal Teague, Leslie Millsaps, each for a term of two years, W. Ray Lackey, Roy Rogers, Bill L. Mauney, for a term of four years.

Alleghany: F. H. Spry, Duke C. Bledsoe, Jr., each for a term of four years.

Ashe: Robert Goodman, Wayne Johnson, each for a term of four years, Lionel Ballou, Howard Reeves, Jake C. Little, John C. Payne, each for a term of two years.

Avery: Ralph Gwaltney, Scott Wiseman, each for a term of four years.

Beaufort: David C. Lee, Jr. for a term of two years, Carmer H. Wallace, Sr., Jasper G. Warren, W. L. Guilford, each for a term of four years.

Bertie: Johnnie Walker, Wilson Jernigan, each for a term of four years.

Brunswick: Joe N. Gainey, Delmas E. Babson, each for a term of four years.

Camden: W. Frank Williams, Horace Cuthrell, each for a term of four years.

Catawba: Bruce Teague, John F. Hunsucker, each for a term of four years.

Chatham: James L. Griffin, Lewis Norwood, each for a term of four years.

Clay: William T. Groves, James T. Price, each for a term of four years.

Columbus: Horace Miller, Donald Currie, E. M. Griffin, Bobby Sessions, Robert R. Carroll, Waldo Marlowe, each for a term of two years.

Cumberland: E. Bruce McFadyen, H. E. Maxwell, each for a term of four years.

Currituck: Ervin M. Cooper, Richard M. Poyner, each for a term of four years, Baxter Williams for a term of two years.

Dare: Nellie Perry, Louis Midgett, Catherine H. Burrus, each for a term of two years, Jaccie F. Burrus for a term of four years.

Davidson: I. Tom Johnson, B. E. Mendenhall, Robert L. Ripple, each for a term of four years.

Edgecombe: William H. Brake for a term of four years.

Franklin: Jones Winston for a term of four years.

Gates: A. F. Stallings, Jr., Paige Riddick, each for a term of four years.

Greene: Sam Corbett, Sara M. Stocks, R. S. Holloman, W. D. Cobb, Jr., Denver Hughes, each for a term of two years.

Halifax: Mrs. Joyce H. Shearin, C. M. Moore, Jr., C. H. Leggett, Jr., A. G. Wilcox, Jr., each for a term of four years, John I. Walston, Jr., Mrs. A. L. Williams, W. Carlos Burt, each for a term of two years.

Harnett: C. L. Corbett, Hoke Smith, each for a term of four years.

Hertford: George E. Gibbs, Ralph C. Mason, Jr., each for a term of four years.

Hoke: Robert L. Gibson, Riley M. Jordan, each for a term of two years.

Hyde: Cecil R. Silverthorne, Wesley W. Ballance, Earl Pugh, Seth B. Credle, Jr., Alex M. Eley, each for a term of two years.

Iredell: C. Wilson White, J. Oscar Stradley, each for a term of four years.

Johnston: Harold M. Medlin, John M. Radford, each for a term of four years.

Jones: Abbott Meadows for a term of two years.

Lee: J. Glenn Edwards, C. M. Wicker, each for a term of four years.

Lenoir: Earl W. Kinsey, Eugene B. Williams, Cephus A. Eubanks, J. Oliver Smith, J. Talbot Capps, each for a term of two years.

Lincoln: June W. Dellinger, C. Rhyne Little, each for a term of four years.

Madison: Emery Wallin, William A. Whitson, each for a term of two years.

Martin: Macon M. Holliday, Leroy Harrison, each for a term of four years, George S. McRorie, H. N. Jackson, each for a term of two years.

Mitchell: Brown Ferguson for a term of four years.

Northampton: John Heller, James Hedgepeth, C. G. Parker, Jr., Scott Bowers,

W. C. Conner, Lawrence H. Taylor, John Wesley Parker, each for a term of two years.

Pamlico: M. Rex Potter, Bert C. Day, Robert F. McCotter, Orien C. Potter, Duval Hardison, Alton H. Lee, Rufus E. Brinson, each for a term of two years.

Pender: W. D. Robbins, Ivey L. Player, each for a term of four years.

Perquimans: Miss Thelma W. Elliott, George W. Baker, Emmett Long, each for a term of four years.

Pitt: Sam E. Nelson, J. B. Congleton, Jr., A. D. McLawhorn, Jr., each for a term of four years.

Polk: Eugene Kanipe, Kay T. Conner, Hubert McEntyre, Glenn York, Ralph Arledge, each for a term of four years.

Rockingham: W. Leonard Pryor, Walter T. Frye, each for a term of four years.

Rowan: E. Linwood Foil for a term of two years, Lane C. Drye, W. Curtis Rogers, each for a term of four years.

Rutherford: Beaty L. Bass, Dorothy C. Crenshaw, A. P. (Buddy) Weathers, Jr., each for a term of four years.

Sampson: Leland Lee, Bynum Jackson, James A. Ezzell, Joe Butler, L. B. Wilson, each for a term of two years.

Stokes: S. Leroy Smith, J.R. (Bill) Jones, each for a term of four years.

Surry: J. Ford Cockerham, Clinton W. Moseley, each for a term of four years.

Tyrrell: Durwood Cooper, Dan E. Davis, Colon H. Snell, each for a term of two years.

Union: Lane B. Price, Bill F. Howie, James L. Davis, J. Conley Baucom, Roy Richardson, each for a term of two years.

Warren: Dr. Charles Bunch, Ben C. Harris, Roger C. Moore, W. Boyd Mayfield, Robert C. Gupton, each for a term of four years.

Washington: Joseph H. Peele, A. W. Alexander, Jr., each for a term of four years.

Wilkes: Robert R. Smoak for a term of four years.

Wilson: Rex Best, Jr., Williams H. Tomlinson, each for a term of four years.

Yadkin: John W. Conaway, Edwin M. Speas, Odell Groce, each for a term of four years.

Yancey: I. E. Clevenger, Albert Edwards, A. F. Blakenship, Ralph Silver, Carter Thomas, each for a term of four years.

- **Sec. 2.** That the members of the several County Boards of Education appointed by this Act shall qualify by taking the oath of office on or before the first Monday in April, 1969, and shall, unless otherwise herein provided, hold office until the first Monday in April, 1971, and until their successors are elected and qualified, and together with the members of the Boards of Education of the several counties whose terms will not expire on the first Monday in April, 1969, shall constitute the Boards of Education of the respective counties.
- **Sec. 3.** All laws and clauses of laws in conflict with the provisions of this Act are hereby repealed.
- **Sec. 4.** This Act shall be in full force and effect from and after its ratification. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified, this the 16th day of April, 1969.