AN ACT to change the date and method of election of the Franklin county board of education to a nonpartisan primary and election method.


The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:


SECTION 1.  Section 6(b) of Chapter 341 of the 1993 Session Laws, as amended by S.L. 2005‑80, reads as rewritten:

"(b)      The members of the Permanent Board shall be elected for a term of four years in nonpartisan elections held at the time of the regular primary general election for county offices, with the results determined under according to the election and runoff election nonpartisan primary method as provided under G.S. 163‑293. The runoff election, if needed, shall be at the same time as the second primary is scheduled. G.S. 163‑294. The primary shall be held on the date provided by G.S. 163‑1 for county partisan primaries. The filing period shall be the same as for county officers elected on a partisan basis. Except as otherwise provided by this act, the election shall be conducted in accordance with the applicable provisions of Chapters 115C and 163 of the General Statutes. Duly elected members of the Permanent Board shall take office the first Monday of December immediately following their election and shall take the oath of office prescribed in Article VI, Section 7 of the Constitution. Upon the members of the Permanent Board being installed, the Permanent Board shall replace the Merged Board and shall assume all of the duties, powers, assets, and liabilities of the Merged Board as provided for in Section 5(d) of this act and the Merged Board shall cease to exist and the terms of office of the members of the merged Board shall end.exist. Members of the Permanent Board shall serve until their successors are elected and qualified."

SECTION 2.  This act is effective when it becomes law and applies to elections held on or after that date.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 24th day of May, 2023.



                                                                    s/  Phil Berger

                                                                         President Pro Tempore of the Senate



                                                                    s/  Destin Hall

                                                                         Presiding Officer of the House of Representatives