GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA
SESSION LAW 2022-19
HOUSE BILL 1061
AN ACT to increase the licensing fees of the currituck county game commission.
The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
SECTION 1.(a) Section 8 of Chapter 1436 of the 1957 Session Laws, as amended by Section 6 of Chapter 622 of the 1981 Session Laws, Section 1 of S.L. 1997‑163, and Section 51 of S.L. 1997‑456, reads as rewritten:
"Section 8. To obtain a license for either a stationary bush blind or a floating bush blind, the applicant shall apply in writing to the clerk to the Game Commission enclosing:
($25.00) Forty dollars ($40.00) if the applicant is a resident of
North Carolina; or
(2) Two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) if the applicant is not a resident of North Carolina.
In addition to this nonrefundable application fee, each application shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable processing fee of ten dollars ($10.00). Applicants shall submit proof of North Carolina residency along with each application.
Applicants who are not residents of North Carolina but who were the holders of licensed blinds for the 1996‑97 waterfowl season shall be charged as North Carolina residents for all subsequent renewals of that application. However, this exemption terminates if the blind license is not renewed during any subsequent annual renewal period and is not transferable to any different blind location.
Float blinds when licensed shall bear the license number or tag, and the same shall be displayed in a prominent or conspicuous place upon the blind."
SECTION 1.(b) Subsection (b) of Section 10 of Chapter 1436 of the 1957 Session Laws, as amended by Section 1 of Chapter 398 of the 1975 Session Laws, Section 7 of Chapter 622 of the 1981 Session Laws, Section 4 of Chapter 764 of the 1983 Session Laws, and Section 2 of S.L. 1997‑163, reads as rewritten:
"(b) Application must be
filed on or before August 1 of each year to insure timely consideration. To
obtain a license for a point blind, the applicant shall apply in writing to the
clerk to the Game Commission enclosing
twenty-five dollars ($25.00). forty
dollars ($40.00). In addition to the application fee, each application
shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable processing fee of ten dollars
SECTION 1.(c) Section 16 of Chapter 1436 of the 1957 Session Laws, as amended by Section 1 of Chapter 1178 of the 1971 Session Laws, reads as rewritten:
"Sec. 16. The use of
airboats on the public waters of Currituck County
Game Commission with
the approval of the North Carolina Wildlife Resource Commission shall have
authority to restrict or prohibit the use of air boats on Currituck Sound is
prohibited from September 1 of each year to April 1 of each the
following year. All boats powered with gasoline, oil or similarly operated
engines shall use efficient mufflers in Currituck County except when otherwise
authorized by the Federal Government."
SECTION 2. This act becomes effective October 1, 2022, and applies to applications for licenses on or after that date.
In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 29th day of June, 2022.
s/ Phil Berger
President Pro Tempore of the Senate
s/ Tim Moore
Speaker of the House of Representatives