GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA
SESSION LAW 2020-30
HOUSE BILL 158
AN ACT to require the division of motor vehicles to temporarily waive the road test requirement for level TWO limited provisional licenses And to provide ACCOMMODATIONS for driver education coursework interrupted by school closures in the spring semester of 2020.
The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
SECTION 1.(a) Notwithstanding G.S. 20‑11(d)(3), the Division of Motor Vehicles shall waive the requirement that an applicant pass a road test in order to obtain a Level 2 limited provisional license if the applicant meets all other requirements to obtain the license.
SECTION 1.(b) In addition to all other requirements for a Level 3 full provisional license set out in G.S. 20‑11, a Level 2 limited provisional license holder who receives a waiver under subsection (a) of this section must pass a road test administered by the Division in order to obtain a Level 3 full provisional license.
SECTION 1.(c) This section is effective when it becomes law and applies to applications for provisional licenses submitted on or after that date. Subsection (a) of this section expires on the date the Division resumes administering road tests for Level 2 limited provisional license applicants.
SECTION 2. Notwithstanding G.S. 115C‑215(b)(1), (2), (4), and (5) and G.S. 115C‑216, and the requirements of State Board of Education Policy DRIV‑0004, for students enrolled in classroom driver education between January 2020 and March 16, 2020, in a public school or a licensed commercial driver training school, students shall be deemed to have completed all classroom instruction requirements for driver education if the student completed at least 15 hours of classroom instruction prior to March 16, 2020. A student who has not completed at least 15 hours of classroom instruction may be offered the opportunity to take and pass the proficiency examination developed by the Department of Public Instruction, as provided in the State Board of Education Policy DRIV‑0004, to waive the classroom instruction requirement. All students enrolled in driver education in the spring semester of 2020 shall be required to complete a minimum of six hours of behind‑the‑wheel instruction before being issued a North Carolina Driver Education Completion Certificate. Public schools are authorized to resume driver education programs in accordance with guidance issued by the Department of Public Instruction.
SECTION 3. Except as otherwise provided, this act is effective when it becomes law.
In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 15th day of June, 2020.
s/ Ralph E. Hise, Jr.
Presiding Officer of the Senate
s/ Tim Moore
Speaker of the House of Representatives
s/ Roy Cooper
Approved 2:26 p.m. this 19th day of June, 2020