AN ACT to authorize the appointment of additional members to the Johnston County airport authority.


The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:


SECTION 1.  Section 2 of S.L. 1971‑624 reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 2. The Airport Authority shall consist of five seven members who shall be appointed to staggered terms of four years by the Johnston County Board of Commissioners. All of the members shall be residents of the County. The terms of the initial five members of the Airport Authority shall be as follows:  two members to be appointed to a term of four years; three members appointed for a term of two years. Thereafter, all terms shall be for four year. Each of the members and their successors so appointed shall take and subscribe before the Clerk of the Superior Court of Johnston County, an oath of office and file same with the Johnston County Board of Commissioners. Upon the occurrence of any vacancy on said Airport Authority, said vacancy shall be filled within 60 days after notice thereof at a regular meeting of the Board of County Commissioners. In the event the Johnston County Board of Commissioners should appoint one of the members of that said Board as a member of the said Airport Authority, such membership shall not constitute double office holding within the meaning of Article VI, Sec. 9 of the Constitution of North Carolina."

SECTION 2.  Within 90 days of the effective date of this act, the Johnston County Board of Commissioners shall appoint two additional members to the Airport Authority to serve staggered terms as follows: one term shall expire April 30, 2022, and the other term shall expire March 31, 2024. Thereafter, the terms shall be for four years.

SECTION 3.  This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 10th day of June, 2020.



                                                                    s/  Philip E. Berger

                                                                         President Pro Tempore of the Senate



                                                                    s/  Tim Moore

                                                                         Speaker of the House of Representatives